Baci di Dama

20131224-214939.jpg

That’s Italian for the most amazing biscuits ever

Small bites of hazelnutty goodness sandwiched together with Nutella.

Before making these for myself, I had never actually tried these biscuits. I had seen them on a cooking programme on TV, I didn’t even know their name, I just knew they were bite sized Italian hazelnut biscuits with a hazelnut cream filling. They looked and sounded delicious. I knew they would be the most amazing biscuits. All I had to do was find out what they were.

A few google searches with vague descriptions were fruitless. I couldn’t find them on the programme’s website. Looking through my many cookbooks didn’t help. I guess I was just going to have to give up on these…

Now I don’t normally read let alone attempt recipes that don’t have pictures. I was slightly, no very, disappointed that my new cookbook didn’t have a picture for every recipe. Yet something drew me to this recipe, and as I read the description I knew I had found them!
(Despite not having a picture for every recipe I highly recommend this book, everything I have made so far has come out perfectly, I was probably over exaggerating how few pics it has, and all the pictures are mouthwatering!)

The recipe is very straight forward. I used my hand held electric whisk, not food processor, as it’s less hassle to clean.
The recipe says to leave the dough in the fridge for at least 30minutes. The first time I made these I left them in the fridge all day and still found it easy to form the biscuit balls.
There was no way I was going to weigh out the balls for them to all be the same (I am marginally OCD but that’s just taking it to the next level!) I think they look more homemade when they are slightly different shapes and sizes anyway.

20131224-215706.jpg
The recipe makes A LOT, which shouldn’t be a problem as they are incredibly moreish.
The first time I made these I froze half the dough and still ended up with about 40! The dough freezes very well and they tasted just as good than when made fresh.

20131224-215906.jpg
I also didn’t make my own gianduja filling, it is probably worth the effort, and I may attempt it in the future, but for now I’m sticking to Nutella.
More difficult than waiting for the dough to chill is waiting for the biscuits to cool so they can be sandwiched together. Obviously a good time to try them out, they taste really good warm (smother them with Nutella when they are warm…it goes all melty and messy..mmm). They taste really good cooled and without the Nutella as well (it’s probably a good thing this recipe makes a lot!)

20131224-221957.jpg

These are one of my favourite biscuits at the moment, crunchy, nutty and gooey (and bitesized, which means you can eat more without feeling guilty/greedy).

They go really well with a hot mug of coffee 🙂

And they make a great homemade gift

20131224-222009.jpg

P.S. It actually means ‘ladies kisses’ but I prefer my translation 🙂

3 thoughts on “Baci di Dama

Leave a Reply

