12 Years….

20140109-224254.jpg
I am constantly having people tell me that I should sell my bakes and cakes, as flattering as that is, I personally don’t think everything is for sale. I know the enjoyment I get from making and gifting (and I know you love the receiving…) would be lost if I was doing it on demand and in the masses (semi-masses…let’s not be too big headed now).

When I was asked if I could make some cupcakes to be sold help raise money at a human right event, however, I couldn’t say no. It was for a good cause after all 🙂

These were made for an event in November’13 (so a bit of a flashback) to raise awareness of the plight of the 164 prisoners detained in Guantanamo, including a British resident Shaker Amer (his prisoner number is 239). Most of these men have been detained without any charge and have been tortured in the most disgusting, degrading and unimaginable ways possible.

20140109-224846.jpg
This was the first time I had made such a large quantity of cupcake and my first time making fondant toppers (personally not a big fan of fondant). It was a challenge, I got tired, backache and felt like giving up when things didn’t go to plan.
As a result I have an even bigger respect for those who make cupcakes/cakes on a regular basis, the time and effort that go into them really makes their products priceless.
I did actually find it really enjoyable, minus a few tantrums, therapeutic even.

They are a vanilla cupcake filled with raspberry jam and vanilla buttercream topped with a fondant topper.

For the toppers after cutting into circles I printed them using my mini stamper (I got mine from ebay), this was a painstaking process and took forever, which left me with a stiff back/neck from bending over. But once they were finished I was so pleased with the results and it was definitely worth the effort.

20140109-225039.jpg
For the numbers I used a ‘Clikstix’ number cutter, I had read mixed reviews online, but it seemed the quickest way to make lots of numbers. It was really easy to use and I was very happy with it. At times the fondant would get stuck, but that was easily removed using a cocktail stick.

20140109-232300.jpg
I was really happy with the outcome and happy that my cupcakes have gone to good use and raising awareness of such an important cause.

20140109-231426.jpg

This Saturday (12/01/14) marks 12 years since the opening of the Guantanamo Bay Detention camp, so I felt it was an apt time to share these with all of you.

For more information and to find out about events to commemorate the day please visit: London Guantanamo Campaign

One thought on “12 Years….

Leave a Reply

