Maryam, with these Rocher you really are spoiling us

Who can resist Ferrero Rocher? Just the sight of those golden wrappers in their dainty little cases makes my mouth water

I wanted to make some special cupcakes, and what could make a cupcake more special?!

I used my favourite chocolate cupcake recipe as the base, it is a bit more effort than a traditional chocolate cake recipe (i.e. just adding cocoa powder to a plain cake batter), but the results are worth it. Moist, super chocolatey cupcakes that are simply irresistible.

20140119-213650.jpg (I just had to show off my new Hello Kitty oven gloves, I love them so much, an unexpected gift from a friend who knows me too well)
I added about 80grams of chopped hazelnuts to the batter, which gave the cupcakes a lovely crunch.

Once cooled I filled them with some Nutella. Along with the chopped hazelnuts in the cupcakes, this really made them THE Ferrero Rocher cupcakes.

20140119-214246.jpg

They were topped with a swirl of the most amazing Nutella buttercream frosting, with a scattering of chopped hazelnuts.

20140119-215020.jpg
To make the frosting: Cream 125g of unsalted butter, whisk in 250g sifted icing sugar until fully incorporated. Gradually add between 15-25g milk, until you get it to the consistency you want. Whisk continuously for 5mins to get a lovely, light airy frosting. Then add Nutella, I added about 3 tablespoons, but add as much as you want to your liking. I added a few extra drops of milk. Once ready, lick the whisk,make sure it’s unplugged!

To complete this cupcake it HAD to have a Ferrero Rocher on top. I was apprehensive to cut them in half in case they broke (it wouldn’t really be the end of the world, waste not want not šŸ˜‰ )

20140119-215028.jpg
But I didn’t have enough to put a whole one on each cupcake, so cut in half I did, and most of them survived.

These came out perfectly. Chocolate and hazelnut is an unbeatable combination.

I normally get disappointed with cupcakes, mainly because they are too small for my liking and you look greedy if you have more than one, but one of these was enough! (For one sitting anyway… )

20140119-215325.jpg

And with these cupcakes, I really am spoiling you šŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Maryam, with these Rocher you really are spoiling us

  1. Pingback: La Vie en Rose | whatmaryammadenext

  2. Pingback: Ferrero Rocher Brownies | whatmaryammadenext

Leave a Reply

