5:2 Diet Cake

I’ve been on a bit of a blogging break, so my recent posts are about what I’ve been making over the last few months.

In February, I decided to give the 5:2 diet a go. I usually don’t give in to fad diets, too many restrictions and most aren’t sustainable in the long run. 5:2 appealed to me because you don’t have to completely cut out anything and from talking to a few people who swear by it, it seemed like something that could easily fit into my life and give me steady and long lasting results.

A few people had told me that 500 calories is a lot more than you think, and by the end of the day they felt energised. They lied!!! I found it really difficult to find three small meals that would fit into the 500 calorie allowance plus allow for some snacks. I usually went for a small bowl of porridge for breakfast, salad for lunch and soup for dinner, and snacks of cherry tomatoes or carrot sticks for snacks. By the end of the day I felt really tired and irate. However, with the knowledge that this is for only for one day (my 500 calorie days were Mondays and Fridays) I tried my best to keep to me allowance (a few slip ups but thats okay). The next day, however, I would wake up really hungry, and it takes a lot of self control to not over compensate.

One of the good things about the 5:2 diet, is on the other 5 days, you can eat ‘normally’, and for me a normal, balanced diet consists of cake 😀

I had been wanting to make a Hummingbird cake for ages, banana/pineapple/pecans (see, its healthy :p) ,mmm irresistible.

I went with the Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook recipe for the cake, and was not disappointed.

The cake was really moist, soft and moreish.

I didn’t have any ripe bananas at the time, I initially froze my bananas following a Google search, but later read this actually drops them from ripening, so followed the advice of baking them in their skin for an hour.

go bananas

go bananas

Either way, the bananas became extremely juicy, sweet and mushy. This was reflected in the taste of the cake.

Once baked and cooled, the recipe calls for the cake to be layered with a cream cheese frosting, the remainder of which is to be spread over the cake.

I LOVE cream cheese frosting, but I had never tried a home made frosting the quite has the same affect as bakery frosting (my favourite is from Gail’s and Lola’s), this recipe looked like it had potential..

225g Cream Cheese (I used Philadelphia), 225g mascarpone creamed together.

Whisk a medium carton of Double Cream (300ml) til at stiff peaks

Combine the two cream mixtures with 125g icing sugar and a few drops of vanilla extract/flavouring

OMG… this frosting is amazing. It is the BEST cream cheese frosting EVER. It can be use for smoothing and piping, perfect!

The quantities above made enough to fill this three layered cake and cover the top and some piping detail (with enough left for me to eat :D). To compliment the cinnamon in the cake I put a pinch in the frosting, and also using a stencil sprinkled some on top.

hummingbird

Unfortunately, I didn’t take many pics during the making process, but I love the effect the stencil makes. It takes a plain, ordinary looking cake into something very special. It also looks like it took a lot of effort, whereas in reality its just a sprinkling of cinnamon! I have used my stencils in the past to transform a plain, uniced cake with a sprinkling of icing sugar and stencil magic 🙂

mmm

mmm

 

Leave a Reply

