Mendhi Cupcakes

The centre piece (even though it was on the side of the table) of my dessert table was this cupcake display.

image

For the cakes, I decided to keep it simple; vanilla filled with raspberry jam and topped with vanilla buttercream (250g unsalted butter creamed with 500g icing sugar, about 2 tablespoons of milk until you get the desired consistency, and vanilla to taste). And chocolate mud cupcakes with a chocolate buttercream.

I wanted to make really colourful cupcakes, I decided to go for fondant toppers with a mendhi/henna design.

I ordered Renshaw fondant icing in turquoise, fuscia pink and orange.  And used a round cookie cutter to cut the discs to size.

I ordered the mendhi pattern stencils from eBay and some I had collected over the last couple of years.

And used Rainbow Dust Metallic Food Paint, which is alcohol free :D, applying it using a sponge.

image

I made the fondant toppers a few days before the event so they would be ready when it was time to decorate the cupcakes.

When ready I smoothed buttercream on top of the cupcake and placed the disc on top.  Unfortunately, the discs were slightly smaller than the cakes.

image

I made about 40 cakes in total, on top of all the other things I made. With all the last minute preparation for the wedding, I must be crazy!

I was so happy with how these turned out, they looked amazing on the cake stand, the colours and patterns complimented the mendhi theme, and they tasted delicious 😀

image

Leave a Reply

