Lemon Meringue Pie

I recently watched the Horizon documentary What’s the Right Diet for You, and doing the online test found me to be a ‘constant craver’, which wasn’t really very suprising.  But not particularly helped by constantly thinking about ‘what can I make next ‘.

This lemon meringue pie is a perfect example, I saw a pie on TV and decided I had to have pie, spent the next few hours thinking of what pie and looking up recipes and had an internal debate as to whether I should make it or not (just for the record, I did do other things that day!). 

Another problem I have no time concept when it comes to baking, so when I started making this at 5.30pm, even though I know it should have been chilled for an hour, I had every intention of eating this after dinner (and I did).

I went with the Ultimate Lemon Meringue Pie recipe as I liked the addition of orange to the lemon curd.

1) Prepare the pastry case

image

image

2) once the curd has been prepared, pour over the prepared pastry case

image

3) I piped the meringue on top

image

4) ready to serve

image

The recipe states to leave the pie to cool for 30mins and leave to rest for a further 1hr to set.

I served it after about 20mins and it was still warm. 
image

To me lemon meringue pie is a light, summery dessert. Eating it warm seemed wrong, however, it tasted really good and made a lovely winter treat.

2 thoughts on “Lemon Meringue Pie

  1. This Muslim Girl Bakes

    Omg, this is so me! I have no time concept when baking either. Even though I know a recipe needs time, I’ll still begin it – knowing I have no time! P.s. the pie looks great. My mother would love it. It’s one of her all time favourites.

    Like

    Reply
    1. maryambakes Post author

      Haha… I have this really bad habit of ‘night baking’ and then I wake up really grumpy because I had to stay up til 2am waiting for something to cool before I could put it away 😂. You should make it, its really good

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

