Fudgy Update

So I had some evaporated milk left over from when I made the fudge the other day, I didn’t want to chuck it down the sink so decided to make more fudge 😀

The fudge recipe I originally used called to not stir the fudge, this was to prevent any crystals from forming. However, the recipe I used this time did call for stirring and the results were amazing.

image

The fudge was super crumbly and as the sugar slightly burned on the bottom of the pan it was transformed from vanilla to a gorgeous caramel fudge.

image

My favourite fudge is from Totally Fudged and this resembled their salted caramel fudge bar the salt.

I decided to go for vanilla fudge, and used this recipe. I halved the quantities:
1)Place 250g castor sugar (I used Golden Castor),170g evaporated milk, 2 tablespoons of milk and a pinch of salt in a pan and heat over a medium heat until the sugar melts (this was a lot quicker than the granulated sugar used in the other recipe)
2) Bring to a boil then bring up to 240deg/’soft ball’ on your thermometer. Stirring frequently.
3) Once it reaches the desired temperature, take of the heat and add the butter and vanilla, leave for 10mins
4) Mix/whisk until it loses it glossy appearance and place in a lined tin and leave to cool

One thought on “Fudgy Update

Leave a Reply

