Brownie Caramelita

What do I like love more, caramelitas or brownies?

I couldn’t decide between the chewy, caramely, oaty caramelitas (and some may say healthy, oats and pecans are known to lower cholesterol and pecans are good for flagging energy levels, I will ignore the rest of the obesity/diabetes inducing ingredients :p) and fudgy chocolatey brownies.

So I decided to combine them together to make this amazing bar.

image

I prepared the caramelita biscuit and brownie mixture (I made half the amount, no nuts/fruit).

image

I baked the oaty base for 10mins:

image

Then covered with the brownie mixture, and baked for 20mins:

image

I then smoothed the caramel on top and sprinkled the chocolate chips and pecans:

image

And crumbled the remaining oaty biscuit dough on top, before baking for a further 20mins:

image

Once cooled, I left it in the fridge overnight.

image

image

Omg… These are amazing!

The thin brownie layer is just enough to give it that fudgy hit, and compliments the gooey caramel and caramelised pecans gorgeously.

New fave? Me thinks so!

Leave a Reply

